About us – Governance

AASSREC is governed by the General Conference, consisting of duly designated representatives of all members (regular and associate).

The General Conference meets in regular session once every two years and is responsible for the overall strategy and direction of AASSREC.

The Executive Council is the governing body of AASSREC when the General Conference is not in session. It oversees the Secretariat which is responsible for the day to day management of the association. The Executive Council is elected every two years and through the years, the posts of President, Vice-Presidents and Secretary-General have rotated among the member organisations.

The Secretariat is located in the country of residence of the Secretary-General. The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia currently hosts the Secretariat.

View the AASSREC Constitution HERE.

Executive Council:  2021 – 2023 


Professor Young-Ryeol Park

Korean Social Science Research Council (KOSSREC), Korea

First Vice-President:

Professor Fleur Johns

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA), Australia

Second Vice-President:

Prof. Dr. Tri Nuke Pudjiastuti

National Research and Innovation Agency (BRIN), Indonesia


Ms Michelle Bruce

Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA), Australia