Member Profile


The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia was established in 1971 to recognise and champion excellence in the social sciences and to provide practical, evidence-based advice on a range of social policy issues.

The Academy comprises of an elected Fellowship of almost 700 distinguished Australian social science researchers and professionals who work together to:

  • Provide advice to governments and Industry on issues of national importance;
  • Promote understanding and awareness of the social sciences; and
  • Coordinate international cooperation and collaboration in the social sciences.

The Academy is an independent, non-government organisation committed to equity, diversity and inclusion in the social sciences; particularly the involvement and recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Contact details:

Professor Fleur Johns
International Secretary

Dr Chris Hatherly
Chief Executive Officer

Ms Michelle Bruce
Manager – Fellowship, International & Awards

Ms Zoe Perry
Program Manager – Fellowship & International

26 Balmain Crescent
Acton ACT 2601

G.P.O. Box 1956
Canberra ACT 2601
Tel: +61 2 6249 1788